Last week I started with my TOGAF 8 – 9 bridge training, since I’m TOGAF 8 certified since 2007. The training consists of 2 days with lectures and 1 day the exam, which is based on the TOGAF 9 book. (900 pages Teleurgestelde emoticon)

What is TOGAF?

The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF®) is a framework for enterprise architecture which provides a comprehensive approach to the design, planning, implementation, and governance of an enterprise information architecture. TOGAF is a registered trademark of The Open Group in the United States and Other countries [2].
TOGAF is a high level and holistic approach to design, which is typically modeled at four levels: Business, Application, Data, and Technology. It tries to give a well-tested overall starting model to information architects, which can then be built upon. It relies heavily on modularization, standardization and already existing, proven technologies and products. (

TOGAF topics

TOGAF is based on four pillars, called architecture domains:

  • Business architecture or business process architecture which defines the business strategy, governance, organization, and key business processes of the organization
  • Applications architecture which provides a blueprint for the individual application systems to be deployed, the interactions between the application systems, and their relationships to the core business processes of the organization with the frameworks for services to be exposed as business functions for integration.
  • Data architecture which describes the structure of an organization’s logical and physical data assets and the associated data management resources
  • Technical architecture or technology architecture which describes the hardware, software and network infrastructure needed to support the deployment of core, mission-critical applications

Architecture Development Method

The Architecture Development Method (ADM) is applied to develop an enterprise architecture which will meet the business and information technology needs of an organization. It may be tailored to the organization’s needs and is then employed to manage the execution of architecture planning activities.[7]

The process is iterative and cyclic. Each step checks with Requirements. Phase C involves some combination of both Data Architecture and Applications Architecture. Additional clarity can be added between steps B and C in order to provide a completeinformation architecture.

Performance engineering working practices are applied to the Requirements phase, and to the Business Architecture, Information System Architecture, and Technology architecture phases. Within Information System Architecture, it is applied to both the Data Architecture and Application Architecture.

Enterprise Continuum

The Enterprise Continuum may be viewed as a "virtual repository" (As of TOGAF 9 this not virtual any more) of all the architecture assets available to an organization. These include architectural models, architectural patterns, architecture descriptions, and other artifacts. These artifacts may exist within the enterprise and also in the IT industry at large.

The Enterprise Continuum consists of both the Architecture Continuum and the Solutions Continuum. The Architecture Continuum specifies the structuring of reusable architecture assets, and includes rules, representations and relationships of the information system(s) available to the enterprise. The Solutions Continuum describes the implementation of the Architecture Continuum by defining reusable solutions building blocks. (


To show the structure of TOGAF 9 I found the following presentation

Categories: Architecture, TOGAF Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.